The Special Technical Community on Operating Systems (STCOS) encourages research, application of novel engineering methods, dissemination of knowledge, and advancement of education in the areas related to Operating Systems and complex software systems in general. The STC co-sponsors conferences, maintains mailing lists, helps improve university curricula, and publishes newsletters.

STCOS Co-Chairs

Kamil Iskra is a computer scientist at Argonne National Laboratory, USA. His research focuses on system software for high-performance computing; he has worked on projects such as Argo, GVR, IOFSL, and ZeptoOS.  Kamil received his M.S. in computer science from AGH University of Science and Technology in Cracow, Poland in 1999.  In 1999-2000 he was a scientific programmer at the University of Amsterdam, Netherlands, from where he also received his PhD. in computer science in 2005.  He has been working at Argonne since 2005, first as a postdoctoral researcher, then as an assistant computer scientist, and since 2013 as a computer scientist. Kamil is a senior member of IEEE.

Philip Shilane is a researcher in the Data Protection Division of Dell EMC. His research interests include storage systems, deduplication, compression, flash caches, and cloud microservices. Phil received his Ph.D. in computer science in 2008 from Princeton University. He joined Data Domain in 2007, which was later acquired by EMC and then Dell.  Phil is a member of the IEEE. 

The chairs can be reached at stcos-chairs@ieee.net

Advisory Board
  • Fred Douglis, Dell EMC
  • Amr El-Kadi, The American University in Cairo
  • Sumi Helal, University of Florida
  • Xing Lin, NetApp
  • Ethan L. Miller, University of California, Santa Cruz
  • Dejan Milojicic, HPE Labs
  • Marc Shapiro, INRIA
  • Vasily Tarasov, IBM Research Almaden
Former Chairs
  • Xing Lin, NetApp
  • Vasily Tarasov, IBM Research Almaden
  • Roberto Gioiosa, PNNL
  • Nikolai Joukov, modelizeIT Inc. and New York University
  • Ethan L. Miller, University of California, Santa Cruz
  • Dejan Milojicic, HPE Labs
  • Fred Douglis, Dell EMC
Former Officers
  • Felipe Cabrera, Amazon
  • Steve Chapin, Syracuse University
  • Peter Dickman, Google
  • Tom Doeppner, Brown University
  • Rasit Eskicioglu, University of Manitoba
  • Brett D. Fleisch, University of California at Riverside
  • Liviu Iftode, Rutgers University
  • Mike Jones, Microsoft Corporation
  • David Kotz, Dartmouth College
  • Darrell D. E. Long, University of California, Santa Cruz
  • Shikharesh Majumdar, Carleton University
  • Ravi Mukkamala, Old Dominion University
  • Stefan Savage, University of California, San Diego
  • Avishay Traeger, Stratoscale
  • Erez Zadok, Stony Brook University